Regulatory compliance
Sep 29, 2023

CQC single assessment framework: Frequently asked questions

Get the answers to 7 of the most frequently asked questions (FAQs) about the CQC's new single assessment framework.

The Care Quality Commission (CQC) will be implementing a new single assessment framework. To help you prepare, we've answered 7 of the most common questions about the changes – which you can also download below to take with you and share with your team.

When is the new framework going live?

The new framework will start rolling out from November 2023 in the South network. It will then be rolled out in stages to other geographical networks (London and the rest of England) by March 2024.

The CQC will contact each provider when it is their time to join the new portal, so make sure to keep your organisation’s contact details updated. They will continue to use the same regulatory approach in areas where the single assessment framework hasn’t been implemented.

When is the new portal going live?

The new provider portal will be introduced and rolled out from August 2023. A full roll out is expected by March 2024.

230 providers will be invited to join the portal across August, and more invites will be sent in September. 

Will the KLOEs and promos still be in place?

Ratings (Outstanding, Good, Requires Improvement, and Inadequate) and the five key questions(Safe, Effective, Caring, Responsive and Well-led) will remain.

However, the key lines of enquiry (KLOEs), prompts and ratings characteristics will be replaced with quality statements that focus on specific topic areas under key question.

How does the PIR fit in with the provided portal?

The regulator has stated that the PIR is an important part of the information gathering process. The portal makes it easier for the CQC to collect data from various sources and stakeholders – including care providers, NHS England, and Local Authorities. The idea is to remove the need for the longer PIR form in the future.

Providers will have access to the information provided, as well. This is to offer a more real-time view of how the provider is performing and changing, to determine the inspection outcome. 

Who will the new framework apply to?

The CQC’s new assessment framework will apply to providers, local authorities and integrated care systems. 

How will this impact my rating?

Each area of the new style of assessment methodology could lead to a change in your rating.The CQC currently aim to update the information they hold on a service (across all the required quality statements and evidence categories) within 2 years.

What can we expect from inspections?

While inspections will remain a crucial element of CQC assessment, the new regulatory model states that the CQC will carry out a rolling assessment of quality and risk.
This means that inspections will not be the only way that CQC assess your service.

To make decisions, the CQC will collect evidence from the following six categories:

1. People’s experience of health and care services

2. Feedback from staff and leaders

3. Feedback from partners

4. Observation

5. Processes

6. Outcomes

Download the FAQs about the CQC single assessment framework

Facebook icon
Twitter logo
Linkedin logo
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
By clicking 'Accept', you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyse site usage and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Cookie Policy for more information.